HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in August 2026

1,136 victims · 85 active groups · 10 new groups · 1,003 in July 2026 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 1,136 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in August 2026, up 13.3% from 1,003 in July 2026.
  • 85 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, qilin (165), thegentlemen (116) and clop (88), accounted for 32.5% of the total.
  • qilin was the most active group with 165 victims, up from 127 in July 2026.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 175 victims (15.4% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (143).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 376 victims (33.1%), followed by Germany (63) and Italy (51); 138 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 10 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including Storm, Sovcali and Barracuda.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Aug 5 (104 victims). Quietest day: Aug 8 (8 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJuly 2026Change
1qilin
165
14.5%127+38
2thegentlemen
116
10.2%137−21
3clop
88
7.7%1+87
4incransom
43
3.8%38+5
5direwolf
43
3.8%0+43
6Storm
41
3.6%0+41
7krybit
36
3.2%25+11
8akira
33
2.9%25+8
9settra
27
2.4%18+9
10Orova
26
2.3%8+18
11coinbasecartel
24
2.1%5+19
12ZaWoo
24
2.1%1+23
13lockbit5
22
1.9%15+7
14play
21
1.8%13+8
15SilentRansomGroup
20
1.8%0+20

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing175
15.4%
2Technology143
12.6%
3Professional Services127
11.2%
4Healthcare117
10.3%
5Other109
9.6%
6Retail & E-Commerce66
5.8%
7Financial Services65
5.7%
8Transportation40
3.5%
9Agriculture and Food Production37
3.3%
10Energy & Utilities31
2.7%
11Hospitality27
2.4%
12Education26
2.3%

Countries

138 victims (12.1%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
StormAug 3, 2026
SovcaliAug 4, 2026
BarracudaAug 5, 2026
PanzerAug 5, 2026
HelixAug 7, 2026
BlueWhaleAug 8, 2026
emperadorAug 10, 2026
EclipseAug 14, 2026
DYSPHOR1AAug 20, 2026
iah6477Aug 20, 2026

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 1,136 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.