HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in September 2026

880 victims · 80 active groups · 10 new groups · 1,136 in August 2026 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 880 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in September 2026, down 22.5% from 1,136 in August 2026.
  • 80 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, thegentlemen (107), qilin (74) and Storm (37), accounted for 24.8% of the total.
  • thegentlemen was the most active group with 107 victims, down from 116 in August 2026.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 144 victims (16.4% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (103).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 287 victims (32.6%), followed by Germany (35) and the United Kingdom (31); 104 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 10 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including BlackLocks, Vexy Ransomware and VYPR.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Sep 29 (56 victims). Quietest day: Sep 26 (3 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareAugust 2026Change
1thegentlemen
107
12.2%116−9
2qilin
74
8.4%165−91
3Storm
37
4.2%41−4
4akira
35
4.0%33+2
5krybit
34
3.9%36−2
6safepay
32
3.6%12+20
7AuditTeam
30
3.4%6+24
8incransom
28
3.2%43−15
9clop
25
2.8%88−63
10emperador
23
2.6%11+12
11lockbit5
19
2.2%22−3
12Vexy Ransomware
19
2.2%0+19
13settra
18
2.0%27−9
14metaencryptor
18
2.0%7+11
15SilentRansomGroup
18
2.0%20−2

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing144
16.4%
2Technology103
11.7%
3Professional Services97
11.0%
4Healthcare85
9.7%
5Other80
9.1%
6Retail & E-Commerce53
6.0%
7Financial Services45
5.1%
8Education37
4.2%
9Transportation33
3.8%
10Government & Defense28
3.2%
11Agriculture and Food Production27
3.1%
12Energy & Utilities25
2.8%

Countries

104 victims (11.8%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
BlackLocksSep 1, 2026
Vexy RansomwareSep 2, 2026
VYPRSep 5, 2026
HYFLOCKSep 9, 2026
SpiralsSep 18, 2026
EndZoneSep 18, 2026
N0nSep 18, 2026
ImNotAVillainSep 24, 2026
BYODSep 29, 2026
ULoseSep 30, 2026

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 880 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.