HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in April 2026

794 victims · 62 active groups · 9 new groups · 799 in March 2026 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 794 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in April 2026, down 0.6% from 799 in March 2026.
  • 62 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, qilin (107), thegentlemen (87) and dragonforce (63), accounted for 32.4% of the total.
  • qilin was the most active group with 107 victims, down from 136 in March 2026.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 162 victims (20.4% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (111).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 281 victims (35.4%), followed by Germany (48) and the United Kingdom (43); 32 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 9 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including shadowbyt3$, netrunner and TiMc.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Apr 27 (98 victims). Quietest day: Apr 12 (5 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareMarch 2026Change
1qilin
107
13.5%136−29
2thegentlemen
87
11.0%58+29
3dragonforce
63
7.9%56+7
4apt73
58
7.3%0+58
5coinbasecartel
44
5.5%33+11
6akira
39
4.9%46−7
7lockbit5
38
4.8%49−11
8incransom
34
4.3%50−16
9krybit
22
2.8%2+20
10shinyhunters
20
2.5%16+4
11nightspire
20
2.5%66−46
12payload
18
2.3%21−3
13lamashtu
17
2.1%0+17
14gunra
16
2.0%0+16
15SilentRansomGroup
13
1.6%6+7

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services162
20.4%
2Manufacturing111
14.0%
3Healthcare78
9.8%
4Consumer Services71
8.9%
5Technology67
8.4%
6Financial Services37
4.7%
7Construction37
4.7%
8Agriculture and Food Production32
4.0%
9Transportation/Logistics30
3.8%
10Public Sector29
3.7%
11Energy29
3.7%
12Education25
3.1%

Countries

32 victims (4.0%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
shadowbyt3$Apr 1, 2026
netrunnerApr 3, 2026
TiMcApr 9, 2026
lamashtuApr 11, 2026
LeakBazaarApr 13, 2026
titanApr 14, 2026
auroraApr 17, 2026
m3rxApr 29, 2026
mnt6Apr 30, 2026

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 794 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.