HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in May 2026

742 victims · 65 active groups · 6 new groups · 794 in April 2026 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 742 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in May 2026, down 6.5% from 794 in April 2026.
  • 65 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, qilin (112), thegentlemen (77) and dragonforce (56), accounted for 33.0% of the total.
  • qilin was the most active group with 112 victims, up from 107 in April 2026.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 145 victims (19.5% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (96).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 281 victims (37.9%), followed by the United Kingdom (48) and Germany (39); 35 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 6 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including fulcrumsec, Orova and Icarus.

Daily activity

Busiest day: May 1 (57 victims). Quietest day: May 16 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareApril 2026Change
1qilin
112
15.1%107+5
2thegentlemen
77
10.4%87−10
3dragonforce
56
7.5%63−7
4akira
33
4.4%39−6
5incransom
29
3.9%34−5
6nightspire
25
3.4%20+5
7safepay
24
3.2%9+15
8fulcrumsec
23
3.1%0+23
9lockbit5
22
3.0%38−16
10nova
21
2.8%8+13
11genesis
19
2.6%1+18
12play
16
2.2%6+10
13medusalocker
15
2.0%0+15
14lamashtu
15
2.0%17−2
15everest
15
2.0%12+3

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services145
19.5%
2Manufacturing96
12.9%
3Technology61
8.2%
4Healthcare59
8.0%
5Consumer Services51
6.9%
6Agriculture and Food Production38
5.1%
7Financial Services36
4.9%
8Transportation/Logistics32
4.3%
9Construction29
3.9%
10Education26
3.5%
11Public Sector24
3.2%
12Hospitality and Tourism19
2.6%

Countries

35 victims (4.7%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
fulcrumsecMay 1, 2026
OrovaMay 3, 2026
IcarusMay 5, 2026
Triple XMay 11, 2026
DeadlockMay 22, 2026
0day SyndicateMay 28, 2026

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 742 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.