HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in March 2026

799 victims · 55 active groups · 6 new groups · 781 in February 2026 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 799 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in March 2026, up 2.3% from 781 in February 2026.
  • 55 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, qilin (136), nightspire (66) and thegentlemen (58), accounted for 32.5% of the total.
  • qilin was the most active group with 136 victims, up from 113 in February 2026.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 107 victims (13.4% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (96).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 348 victims (43.6%), followed by France (36) and the United Kingdom (31); 58 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 6 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including Doommageddon, exitium and kyber.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Mar 6 (41 victims). Quietest day: Mar 8 (8 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareFebruary 2026Change
1qilin
136
17.0%113+23
2nightspire
66
8.3%42+24
3thegentlemen
58
7.3%84−26
4dragonforce
56
7.0%36+20
5incransom
50
6.3%41+9
6lockbit5
49
6.1%34+15
7akira
46
5.8%64−18
8handala
39
4.9%2+37
9coinbasecartel
33
4.1%11+22
10play
26
3.3%48−22
11payload
21
2.6%2+19
12genesis
17
2.1%10+7
13shinyhunters
16
2.0%9+7
14lapsus$
14
1.8%0+14
15worldleaks
13
1.6%7+6

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing107
13.4%
2Technology96
12.0%
3Business Services95
11.9%
4Healthcare68
8.5%
5Construction52
6.5%
6Financial Services51
6.4%
7Consumer Services41
5.1%
8Public Sector33
4.1%
9Education32
4.0%
10Transportation/Logistics28
3.5%
11Agriculture and Food Production26
3.3%
12Energy23
2.9%

Countries

58 victims (7.3%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
DoommageddonMar 8, 2026
exitiumMar 17, 2026
kyberMar 18, 2026
blackwaterMar 20, 2026
cry0Mar 30, 2026
krybitMar 30, 2026

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 799 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.