HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in March 2025

736 victims · 66 active groups · 9 new groups · 1,055 in February 2025 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 736 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in March 2025, down 30.2% from 1,055 in February 2025.
  • 66 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, babuk2 (87), ransomhub (72) and akira (65), accounted for 30.4% of the total.
  • babuk2 was the most active group with 87 victims, after posting none in February 2025.
  • Technology was the most-targeted sector with 115 victims (15.6% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (115).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 308 victims (41.8%), followed by Germany (42) and Canada (37); 27 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 9 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including crazyhunter, skira and VanHelsing.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Mar 31 (44 victims). Quietest day: Mar 9 (7 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareFebruary 2025Change
1babuk2
87
11.8%0+87
2ransomhub
72
9.8%112−40
3akira
65
8.8%79−14
4qilin
44
6.0%45−1
5safepay
42
5.7%15+27
6play
34
4.6%38−4
7fog
30
4.1%53−23
8lynx
27
3.7%33−6
9incransom
23
3.1%21+2
10SilentRansomGroup
20
2.7%1+19
11nightspire
19
2.6%1+18
12dragonforce
18
2.4%5+13
13medusa
17
2.3%31−14
14killsec
17
2.3%20−3
15arcusmedia
13
1.8%5+8

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Technology115
15.6%
2Manufacturing115
15.6%
3Business Services86
11.7%
4Healthcare64
8.7%
5Public Sector56
7.6%
6Consumer Services47
6.4%
7Financial Services39
5.3%
8Construction38
5.2%
9Education36
4.9%
10Transportation/Logistics30
4.1%
11Agriculture and Food Production20
2.7%
12Hospitality and Tourism17
2.3%

Countries

27 victims (3.7%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
crazyhunterMar 5, 2025
skiraMar 6, 2025
VanHelsingMar 12, 2025
secp0Mar 14, 2025
novaMar 22, 2025
ralordMar 22, 2025
arkanaMar 24, 2025
sinobiMar 24, 2025
silentMar 27, 2025

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 736 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.