HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in February 2025

1,055 victims · 61 active groups · 7 new groups · 669 in January 2025 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 1,055 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in February 2025, up 57.7% from 669 in January 2025.
  • 61 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, clop (335), ransomhub (112) and akira (79), accounted for 49.9% of the total.
  • clop was the most active group with 335 victims, up from 60 in January 2025.
  • Technology was the most-targeted sector with 180 victims (17.1% of the month's total), ahead of Consumer Services (152).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 547 victims (51.8%), followed by Canada (56) and Germany (43); 90 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 7 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including insomnia, J and L Group.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Feb 27 (253 victims). Quietest day: Feb 16 (10 victims). Victims were posted on 28 of 28 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJanuary 2025Change
1clop
335
31.8%60+275
2ransomhub
112
10.6%36+76
3akira
79
7.5%71+8
4fog
53
5.0%17+36
5qilin
45
4.3%26+19
6play
38
3.6%32+6
7lynx
33
3.1%37−4
8medusa
31
2.9%23+8
9thegentlemen
28
2.7%0+28
10cactus
25
2.4%19+6
11incransom
21
2.0%29−8
12funksec
21
2.0%35−14
13killsec
20
1.9%9+11
14bianlian
18
1.7%3+15
15safepay
15
1.4%23−8

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Technology180
17.1%
2Consumer Services152
14.4%
3Manufacturing148
14.0%
4Business Services111
10.5%
5Transportation/Logistics77
7.3%
6Healthcare62
5.9%
7Education50
4.7%
8Financial Services49
4.6%
9Agriculture and Food Production40
3.8%
10Construction39
3.7%
11Public Sector29
2.7%
12Energy20
1.9%

Countries

90 victims (8.5%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
insomniaFeb 14, 2025
JFeb 17, 2025
L GroupFeb 17, 2025
nightspireFeb 17, 2025
teamxxxFeb 17, 2025
chaosFeb 19, 2025
anubisFeb 25, 2025

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 1,055 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.