HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in April 2025

593 victims · 60 active groups · 6 new groups · 736 in March 2025 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 593 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in April 2025, down 19.4% from 736 in March 2025.
  • 60 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, akira (74), safepay (54) and qilin (46), accounted for 29.3% of the total.
  • akira was the most active group with 74 victims, up from 65 in March 2025.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 88 victims (14.8% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (73).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 255 victims (43.0%), followed by Germany (46) and Canada (25); 15 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 6 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including warlock, brotherhood and bert.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Apr 4 (37 victims). Quietest day: Apr 19 (8 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareMarch 2025Change
1akira
74
12.5%65+9
2safepay
54
9.1%42+12
3qilin
46
7.8%44+2
4play
36
6.1%34+2
5nightspire
22
3.7%19+3
6lynx
22
3.7%27−5
7dragonforce
21
3.5%18+3
8killsec
20
3.4%17+3
9incransom
20
3.4%23−3
10babuk2
18
3.0%87−69
11hunters
16
2.7%6+10
12sarcoma
14
2.4%10+4
13medusa
14
2.4%17−3
14devman
13
2.2%1+12
15SilentRansomGroup
12
2.0%20−8

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing88
14.8%
2Business Services73
12.3%
3Technology65
11.0%
4Financial Services43
7.3%
5Consumer Services41
6.9%
6Construction41
6.9%
7Healthcare35
5.9%
8Transportation/Logistics29
4.9%
9Public Sector29
4.9%
10Education20
3.4%
11Agriculture and Food Production19
3.2%
12Hospitality and Tourism18
3.0%

Countries

15 victims (2.5%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
warlockApr 2, 2025
brotherhoodApr 4, 2025
bertApr 4, 2025
gunraApr 7, 2025
direwolfApr 17, 2025
payoutskingApr 17, 2025

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 593 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.