HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in May 2025

512 victims · 60 active groups · 3 new groups · 593 in April 2025 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 512 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in May 2025, down 13.7% from 593 in April 2025.
  • 60 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, qilin (68), safepay (54) and akira (48), accounted for 33.2% of the total.
  • qilin was the most active group with 68 victims, up from 46 in April 2025.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 70 victims (13.7% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (63).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 233 victims (45.5%), followed by Canada (25) and Spain (22); 4 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 3 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: IMNCrew, Black X and global.

Daily activity

Busiest day: May 16 (28 victims). Quietest day: May 3 (5 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareApril 2025Change
1qilin
68
13.3%46+22
2safepay
54
10.5%540
3akira
48
9.4%74−26
4play
39
7.6%36+3
5devman
25
4.9%13+12
6worldleaks
21
4.1%7+14
7incransom
18
3.5%20−2
8nightspire
17
3.3%22−5
9stormous
15
2.9%1+14
10lynx
14
2.7%22−8
11medusa
11
2.1%14−3
12rhysida
9
1.8%90
13payoutsking
9
1.8%3+6
14interlock
9
1.8%6+3
15everest
9
1.8%1+8

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing70
13.7%
2Technology63
12.3%
3Business Services59
11.5%
4Consumer Services43
8.4%
5Healthcare42
8.2%
6Construction36
7.0%
7Financial Services35
6.8%
8Public Sector26
5.1%
9Transportation/Logistics24
4.7%
10Education23
4.5%
11Hospitality and Tourism21
4.1%
12Agriculture and Food Production12
2.3%

Countries

4 victims (0.8%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
IMNCrewMay 5, 2025
Black XMay 7, 2025
globalMay 28, 2025

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 512 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.