HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in August 2023

465 victims · 37 active groups · 6 new groups · 545 in July 2023 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 465 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in August 2023, down 14.7% from 545 in July 2023.
  • 37 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (125), alphv (43) and 8base (34), accounted for 43.4% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 125 victims, up from 51 in July 2023.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 91 victims (19.6% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (65).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 47 victims (10.1%), followed by Germany (16) and the United Kingdom (15); 243 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 6 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including threeam, incransom and metaencryptor.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Aug 24 (41 victims). Quietest day: Aug 12 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJuly 2023Change
1lockbit3
125
26.9%51+74
2alphv
43
9.2%32+11
38base
34
7.3%37−3
4dispossessor
32
6.9%12+20
5akira
30
6.5%21+9
6cloak
24
5.2%0+24
7play
22
4.7%25−3
8noescape
22
4.7%17+5
9metaencryptor
12
2.6%0+12
10medusa
12
2.6%120
11bianlian
12
2.6%27−15
12ransomed
11
2.4%0+11
13cactus
9
1.9%20−11
14rhysida
8
1.7%16−8
15clop
7
1.5%171−164

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services91
19.6%
2Manufacturing65
14.0%
3Technology35
7.5%
4Education35
7.5%
5Consumer Services34
7.3%
6Construction30
6.5%
7Healthcare29
6.2%
8Financial Services25
5.4%
9Agriculture and Food Production20
4.3%
10Public Sector18
3.9%
11Energy14
3.0%
12Transportation/Logistics13
2.8%

Countries

243 victims (52.3%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
threeamAug 4, 2023
incransomAug 6, 2023
metaencryptorAug 16, 2023
pearAug 18, 2023
ransomedAug 21, 2023
cloakAug 24, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 465 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.