HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in July 2023

545 victims · 42 active groups · 1 new groups · 448 in June 2023 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 545 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in July 2023, up 21.7% from 448 in June 2023.
  • 42 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, clop (171), lockbit3 (51) and 8base (37), accounted for 47.5% of the total.
  • clop was the most active group with 171 victims, up from 90 in June 2023.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 96 victims (17.6% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (85).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 45 victims (8.3%), followed by the United Kingdom (17) and Italy (14); 349 victims did not disclose a location.
  • One group, cactus, appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Jul 26 (79 victims). Quietest day: Jul 2 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJune 2023Change
1clop
171
31.4%90+81
2lockbit3
51
9.4%63−12
38base
37
6.8%39−2
4alphv
32
5.9%27+5
5bianlian
27
5.0%22+5
6play
25
4.6%26−1
7akira
21
3.9%28−7
8cactus
20
3.7%0+20
9noescape
17
3.1%7+10
10stormous
16
2.9%0+16
11rhysida
16
2.9%20−4
12medusa
12
2.2%11+1
13dispossessor
12
2.2%18−6
14nokoyawa
7
1.3%0+7
15blackbasta
6
1.1%10−4

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services96
17.6%
2Manufacturing85
15.6%
3Consumer Services50
9.2%
4Healthcare44
8.1%
5Technology42
7.7%
6Financial Services42
7.7%
7Construction29
5.3%
8Energy26
4.8%
9Education25
4.6%
10Transportation/Logistics20
3.7%
11Public Sector19
3.5%
12Agriculture and Food Production19
3.5%

Countries

349 victims (64.0%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
cactusJul 3, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 545 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.