HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in September 2023

512 victims · 44 active groups · 5 new groups · 465 in August 2023 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 512 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in September 2023, up 10.1% from 465 in August 2023.
  • 44 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (76), losttrust (53) and alphv (52), accounted for 35.4% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 76 victims, down from 125 in August 2023.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 81 victims (15.8% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (64).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 55 victims (10.7%), followed by the United Kingdom (16) and Bulgaria (16); 294 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 5 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including meow, knight and noname.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Sep 26 (89 victims). Quietest day: Sep 17 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareAugust 2023Change
1lockbit3
76
14.8%125−49
2losttrust
53
10.4%0+53
3alphv
52
10.2%43+9
4ransomed
32
6.3%11+21
5cactus
29
5.7%9+20
6play
26
5.1%22+4
7bianlian
24
4.7%12+12
88base
21
4.1%34−13
9noescape
20
3.9%22−2
10ragnarlocker
14
2.7%1+13
11dispossessor
14
2.7%32−18
12medusa
11
2.1%12−1
13knight
11
2.1%0+11
14incransom
11
2.1%3+8
15akira
10
2.0%30−20

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services81
15.8%
2Manufacturing64
12.5%
3Technology49
9.6%
4Healthcare42
8.2%
5Consumer Services41
8.0%
6Construction37
7.2%
7Financial Services29
5.7%
8Agriculture and Food Production27
5.3%
9Education25
4.9%
10Transportation/Logistics22
4.3%
11Public Sector22
4.3%
12Hospitality and Tourism19
3.7%

Countries

294 victims (57.4%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
meowSep 4, 2023
knightSep 6, 2023
nonameSep 11, 2023
ciphbitSep 14, 2023
losttrustSep 26, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 512 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.