HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in March 2023

510 victims · 32 active groups · 5 new groups · 287 in February 2023 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 510 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in March 2023, up 77.7% from 287 in February 2023.
  • 32 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (105), clop (104) and blackbasta (48), accounted for 50.4% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 105 victims, down from 131 in February 2023.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 91 victims (17.8% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (82).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 58 victims (11.4%), followed by the United Kingdom (20) and Germany (15); 286 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 5 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including ransomhub, darkpower and abyss.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Mar 23 (50 victims). Quietest day: Mar 12 (1 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareFebruary 2023Change
1lockbit3
105
20.6%131−26
2clop
104
20.4%0+104
3blackbasta
48
9.4%0+48
4royal
39
7.6%15+24
5alphv
32
6.3%29+3
6play
28
5.5%11+17
7stormous
21
4.1%0+21
8dispossessor
21
4.1%17+4
9bianlian
20
3.9%19+1
10ransomhouse
12
2.4%5+7
11medusa
11
2.2%14−3
12darkpower
10
2.0%0+10
13vicesociety
8
1.6%2+6
14abyss
8
1.6%0+8
15monti
6
1.2%0+6

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services91
17.8%
2Manufacturing82
16.1%
3Consumer Services38
7.5%
4Healthcare37
7.3%
5Technology34
6.7%
6Financial Services32
6.3%
7Public Sector28
5.5%
8Construction28
5.5%
9Transportation/Logistics27
5.3%
10Agriculture and Food Production21
4.1%
11Education20
3.9%
12Energy16
3.1%

Countries

286 victims (56.1%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
ransomhubMar 9, 2023
darkpowerMar 11, 2023
abyssMar 21, 2023
ALP-001Mar 27, 2023
nitrogenMar 29, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Latest victims of the month

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 510 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.