HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in February 2023

287 victims · 23 active groups · 2 new groups · 179 in January 2023 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 287 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in February 2023, up 60.3% from 179 in January 2023.
  • 23 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (131), alphv (29) and bianlian (19), accounted for 62.4% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 131 victims, up from 48 in January 2023.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 43 victims (15.0% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (43).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 23 victims (8.0%), followed by the United Kingdom (8) and Brazil (8); 167 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 2 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: vendetta and thegentlemen.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Feb 12 (21 victims). Quietest day: Feb 25 (0 victims). Victims were posted on 27 of 28 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJanuary 2023Change
1lockbit3
131
45.6%48+83
2alphv
29
10.1%22+7
3bianlian
19
6.6%5+14
4dispossessor
17
5.9%2+15
5royal
15
5.2%20−5
6medusa
14
4.9%5+9
78base
12
4.2%5+7
8play
11
3.8%15−4
9avoslocker
9
3.1%1+8
10ransomhouse
5
1.7%3+2
11mallox
5
1.7%7−2
12vendetta
3
1.0%0+3
13vicesociety
2
0.7%23−21
14snatch
2
0.7%1+1
15ransomexx
2
0.7%0+2

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing43
15.0%
2Business Services43
15.0%
3Consumer Services23
8.0%
4Transportation/Logistics21
7.3%
5Healthcare21
7.3%
6Agriculture and Food Production21
7.3%
7Financial Services19
6.6%
8Construction18
6.3%
9Technology16
5.6%
10Education16
5.6%
11Energy15
5.2%
12Public Sector10
3.5%

Countries

167 victims (58.2%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
vendettaFeb 12, 2023
thegentlemenFeb 28, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 287 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.