HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in April 2023

539 victims · 35 active groups · 9 new groups · 510 in March 2023 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 539 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in April 2023, up 5.7% from 510 in March 2023.
  • 35 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, malas (169), lockbit3 (107) and alphv (46), accounted for 59.7% of the total.
  • malas was the most active group with 169 victims, after posting none in March 2023.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 106 victims (19.7% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (102).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 51 victims (9.5%), followed by France (12) and Canada (12); 350 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 9 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including malas, dunghill and trigona.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Apr 9 (180 victims). Quietest day: Apr 16 (0 victims). Victims were posted on 29 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareMarch 2023Change
1malas
169
31.4%0+169
2lockbit3
107
19.9%105+2
3alphv
46
8.5%32+14
4bianlian
28
5.2%20+8
5blackbasta
22
4.1%48−26
6royal
21
3.9%39−18
7dispossessor
16
3.0%21−5
8play
14
2.6%28−14
9akira
12
2.2%0+12
10medusa
11
2.0%110
11karakurt
11
2.0%4+7
12nokoyawa
10
1.9%1+9
13blackbyte
9
1.7%4+5
14trigona
7
1.3%0+7
15stormous
7
1.3%21−14

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services106
19.7%
2Manufacturing102
18.9%
3Technology58
10.8%
4Consumer Services46
8.5%
5Healthcare37
6.9%
6Financial Services37
6.9%
7Construction26
4.8%
8Education22
4.1%
9Agriculture and Food Production21
3.9%
10Transportation/Logistics19
3.5%
11Energy16
3.0%
12Hospitality and Tourism15
2.8%

Countries

350 victims (64.9%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
malasApr 9, 2023
dunghillApr 10, 2023
trigonaApr 11, 2023
akiraApr 12, 2023
funksecApr 13, 2023
crosslockApr 17, 2023
cryptnetApr 19, 2023
blacknevasApr 24, 2023
raworldApr 27, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 539 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.