HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in November 2021

300 victims · 18 active groups · 5 new groups · 259 in October 2021 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 300 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in November 2021, up 15.8% from 259 in October 2021.
  • 18 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit2 (96), pysa (59) and conti (54), accounted for 69.7% of the total.
  • lockbit2 was the most active group with 96 victims, down from 100 in October 2021.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 52 victims (17.3% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (44).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 11 victims (3.7%), followed by Japan (3) and Mexico (2); 265 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 5 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including medusalocker, lv and sabbath.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Nov 8 (63 victims). Quietest day: Nov 14 (0 victims). Victims were posted on 29 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareOctober 2021Change
1lockbit2
96
32.0%100−4
2pysa
59
19.7%27+32
3conti
54
18.0%41+13
4midas
25
8.3%0+25
5blackbyte
13
4.3%18−5
6snatch
12
4.0%0+12
7everest
9
3.0%3+6
8sabbath
6
2.0%0+6
9lv
6
2.0%0+6
10blackmatter
5
1.7%1+4
11suncrypt
4
1.3%0+4
12quantum
4
1.3%0+4
13dispossessor
2
0.7%3−1
14ransomexx
1
0.3%10
15ragnarlocker
1
0.3%2−1

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services52
17.3%
2Manufacturing44
14.7%
3Consumer Services23
7.7%
4Technology16
5.3%
5Healthcare15
5.0%
6Public Sector14
4.7%
7Financial Services14
4.7%
8Construction13
4.3%
9Agriculture and Food Production13
4.3%
10Education12
4.0%
11Transportation/Logistics11
3.7%
12Energy10
3.3%

Countries

265 victims (88.3%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
medusalockerNov 3, 2021
lvNov 22, 2021
sabbathNov 22, 2021
snatchNov 29, 2021
midasNov 29, 2021

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Latest victims of the month

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 300 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.