HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in October 2021

259 victims · 18 active groups · 4 new groups · 802 in September 2021 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 259 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in October 2021, down 67.7% from 802 in September 2021.
  • 18 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit2 (100), conti (41) and spook (35), accounted for 68.0% of the total.
  • lockbit2 was the most active group with 100 victims, down from 171 in September 2021.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 49 victims (18.9% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (40).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 3 victims (1.2%), followed by Italy (3) and Taiwan (2); 236 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 4 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including bonacigroup, blackbyte and karma.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Oct 4 (43 victims). Quietest day: Oct 14 (0 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareSeptember 2021Change
1lockbit2
100
38.6%171−71
2conti
41
15.8%42−1
3spook
35
13.5%0+35
4pysa
27
10.4%218−191
5blackbyte
18
6.9%0+18
6karma
7
2.7%0+7
7groove
6
2.3%7−1
8revil
4
1.5%24−20
9everest
3
1.2%18−15
10dispossessor
3
1.2%30
11darkleakmarket
3
1.2%27−24
12xinglocker
2
0.8%0+2
13ragnarlocker
2
0.8%3−1
14payloadbin
2
0.8%23−21
15bonacigroup
2
0.8%0+2

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing49
18.9%
2Business Services40
15.4%
3Technology24
9.3%
4Consumer Services20
7.7%
5Healthcare16
6.2%
6Agriculture and Food Production14
5.4%
7Construction12
4.6%
8Transportation/Logistics11
4.2%
9Public Sector9
3.5%
10Hospitality and Tourism9
3.5%
11Education9
3.5%
12Financial Services8
3.1%

Countries

236 victims (91.1%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
bonacigroupOct 4, 2021
blackbyteOct 4, 2021
karmaOct 4, 2021
spookOct 4, 2021

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 259 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.