Ransomware attacks in September 2021
802 victims · 26 active groups · 11 new groups · 19 in August 2021 · Updated Oct 14, 2026
Key findings
- HackerFeeds recorded 802 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in September 2021, up 4121.1% from 19 in August 2021.
- 26 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, pysa (218), lockbit2 (171) and avaddon (141), accounted for 66.1% of the total.
- pysa was the most active group with 218 victims, after posting none in August 2021.
- Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 130 victims (16.2% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (111).
- Organizations in Canada accounted for 9 victims (1.1%), followed by Australia (7) and the United States (6); 735 victims did not disclose a location.
- 11 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including blackmatter, alphv and arvinclub.
Daily activity
Busiest day: Sep 9 (553 victims). Quietest day: Sep 2 (0 victims). Victims were posted on 26 of 30 days.
Most active groups
| # | Group | Victims | Share | August 2021 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | pysa | 218 | 27.2% | 0 | +218 |
| 2 | lockbit2 | 171 | 21.3% | 0 | +171 |
| 3 | avaddon | 141 | 17.6% | 0 | +141 |
| 4 | conti | 42 | 5.2% | 0 | +42 |
| 5 | darkleakmarket | 27 | 3.4% | 0 | +27 |
| 6 | blackmatter | 26 | 3.2% | 0 | +26 |
| 7 | revil | 24 | 3.0% | 0 | +24 |
| 8 | ransomexx | 23 | 2.9% | 1 | +22 |
| 9 | payloadbin | 23 | 2.9% | 0 | +23 |
| 10 | everest | 18 | 2.2% | 0 | +18 |
| 11 | mountlocker | 16 | 2.0% | 0 | +16 |
| 12 | suncrypt | 10 | 1.2% | 0 | +10 |
| 13 | nefilim | 10 | 1.2% | 0 | +10 |
| 14 | arvinclub | 10 | 1.2% | 0 | +10 |
| 15 | avoslocker | 8 | 1.0% | 8 | 0 |
Targeted sectors
| # | Sector | Victims | Share of month |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Manufacturing | 130 | 16.2% |
| 2 | Business Services | 111 | 13.8% |
| 3 | Technology | 66 | 8.2% |
| 4 | Consumer Services | 51 | 6.4% |
| 5 | Financial Services | 47 | 5.9% |
| 6 | Healthcare | 41 | 5.1% |
| 7 | Education | 41 | 5.1% |
| 8 | Agriculture and Food Production | 39 | 4.9% |
| 9 | Construction | 36 | 4.5% |
| 10 | Transportation/Logistics | 35 | 4.4% |
| 11 | Public Sector | 30 | 3.7% |
| 12 | Energy | 20 | 2.5% |
Countries
| # | Country | Victims | Share of month |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Canada | 9 | 1.1% |
| 2 | Australia | 7 | 0.9% |
| 3 | United States | 6 | 0.7% |
| 4 | Germany | 6 | 0.7% |
| 5 | France | 4 | 0.5% |
| 6 | Brazil | 4 | 0.5% |
| 7 | Japan | 3 | 0.4% |
| 8 | Italy | 3 | 0.4% |
| 9 | South Africa | 2 | 0.2% |
| 10 | Thailand | 2 | 0.2% |
| 11 | Saudi Arabia | 2 | 0.2% |
| 12 | Philippines | 2 | 0.2% |
| 13 | United Kingdom | 2 | 0.2% |
| 14 | Belgium | 2 | 0.2% |
| 15 | Vietnam | 1 | 0.1% |
735 victims (91.6%) did not disclose a location.
Groups seen for the first time
| Group | First victim |
|---|---|
| blackmatter | Sep 8, 2021 |
| alphv | Sep 9, 2021 |
| arvinclub | Sep 9, 2021 |
| lockbit2 | Sep 9, 2021 |
| quantum | Sep 9, 2021 |
| everest | Sep 9, 2021 |
| hunters | Sep 9, 2021 |
| lockdata | Sep 9, 2021 |
| darkleakmarket | Sep 9, 2021 |
| payloadbin | Sep 9, 2021 |
| groove | Sep 9, 2021 |
“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.
Latest victims of the month
| Victim | Group | Country | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gershman Mortgage | conti | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| calautomotive.com | payloadbin | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| newhotel.com | lockbit2 | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| fugybat.fr | lockbit2 | FR | Sep 30, 2021 |
| nitropiso.com.m... | lockbit2 | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| texasacehvac.co... | lockbit2 | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| transrendufense... | lockbit2 | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| geda-produkte.d... | lockbit2 | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| calsoft | payloadbin | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| Fimmick CRM Hong Kong (www.fimmick.com) | revil | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| calsoft.com | payloadbin | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
| Fimmick CRM Honk Kong (www.fimmick.com) | revil | — | Sep 30, 2021 |
Methodology
Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 802 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.

