HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in January 2026

710 victims · 56 active groups · 2 new groups · 810 in December 2025 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 710 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in January 2026, down 12.3% from 810 in December 2025.
  • 56 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, qilin (111), akira (63) and sinobi (55), accounted for 32.3% of the total.
  • qilin was the most active group with 111 victims, down from 176 in December 2025.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 111 victims (15.6% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (94).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 333 victims (46.9%), followed by the United Kingdom (29) and Canada (25); 26 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 2 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: sicarii and cmdorganization.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Jan 25 (65 victims). Quietest day: Jan 1 (1 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareDecember 2025Change
1qilin
111
15.6%176−65
2akira
63
8.9%58+5
3sinobi
55
7.7%54+1
4incransom
49
6.9%38+11
5clop
46
6.5%1+45
6thegentlemen
34
4.8%10+24
7devman
30
4.2%46−16
8nightspire
29
4.1%7+22
9tengu
28
3.9%1+27
10play
28
3.9%20+8
11lynx
26
3.7%14+12
12everest
21
3.0%10+11
13payoutsking
15
2.1%0+15
14safepay
12
1.7%59−47
15dragonforce
12
1.7%35−23

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing111
15.6%
2Technology94
13.2%
3Business Services80
11.3%
4Healthcare49
6.9%
5Construction48
6.8%
6Consumer Services47
6.6%
7Financial Services40
5.6%
8Public Sector28
3.9%
9Transportation/Logistics26
3.7%
10Energy23
3.2%
11Agriculture and Food Production23
3.2%
12Education22
3.1%

Countries

26 victims (3.7%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
sicariiJan 5, 2026
cmdorganizationJan 25, 2026

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 710 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.