HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in December 2025

810 victims · 58 active groups · 3 new groups · 694 in November 2025 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 810 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in December 2025, up 16.7% from 694 in November 2025.
  • 58 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, qilin (176), lockbit5 (69) and safepay (59), accounted for 37.5% of the total.
  • qilin was the most active group with 176 victims, up from 105 in November 2025.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 123 victims (15.2% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (102).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 342 victims (42.2%), followed by Germany (40) and Canada (35); 31 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 3 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: minteye, osiris and ms13089.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Dec 24 (55 victims). Quietest day: Dec 21 (7 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareNovember 2025Change
1qilin
176
21.7%105+71
2lockbit5
69
8.5%4+65
3safepay
59
7.3%22+37
4akira
58
7.2%69−11
5sinobi
54
6.7%22+32
6devman
46
5.7%13+33
7incransom
38
4.7%42−4
8dragonforce
35
4.3%24+11
9coinbasecartel
22
2.7%12+10
10play
20
2.5%26−6
11nova
14
1.7%11+3
12lynx
14
1.7%3+11
13ransomhouse
12
1.5%7+5
14handala
12
1.5%6+6
15worldleaks
11
1.4%6+5

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing123
15.2%
2Business Services102
12.6%
3Technology93
11.5%
4Healthcare65
8.0%
5Construction62
7.7%
6Consumer Services46
5.7%
7Financial Services43
5.3%
8Agriculture and Food Production36
4.4%
9Public Sector33
4.1%
10Transportation/Logistics27
3.3%
11Education27
3.3%
12Hospitality and Tourism22
2.7%

Countries

31 victims (3.8%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
minteyeDec 7, 2025
osirisDec 10, 2025
ms13089Dec 18, 2025

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 810 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.