HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in January 2025

669 victims · 55 active groups · 3 new groups · 709 in December 2024 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 669 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in January 2025, down 5.6% from 709 in December 2024.
  • 55 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, akira (71), babuk2 (64) and clop (60), accounted for 29.1% of the total.
  • akira was the most active group with 71 victims, up from 65 in December 2024.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 102 victims (15.2% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (97).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 303 victims (45.3%), followed by Canada (35) and the United Kingdom (26); 28 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 3 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: morpheus, GDLockerSec and linkc.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Jan 24 (78 victims). Quietest day: Jan 2 (2 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareDecember 2024Change
1akira
71
10.6%65+6
2babuk2
64
9.6%0+64
3clop
60
9.0%68−8
4lynx
37
5.5%30+7
5ransomhub
36
5.4%51−15
6funksec
35
5.2%104−69
7play
32
4.8%19+13
8incransom
29
4.3%8+21
9qilin
26
3.9%27−1
108base
24
3.6%4+20
11safepay
23
3.4%18+5
12medusa
23
3.4%13+10
13cactus
19
2.8%5+14
14fog
17
2.5%22−5
15dragonforce
16
2.4%8+8

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing102
15.2%
2Technology97
14.5%
3Business Services96
14.3%
4Healthcare46
6.9%
5Consumer Services46
6.9%
6Financial Services40
6.0%
7Agriculture and Food Production40
6.0%
8Transportation/Logistics38
5.7%
9Public Sector35
5.2%
10Education27
4.0%
11Energy20
3.0%
12Construction17
2.5%

Countries

28 victims (4.2%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
morpheusJan 7, 2025
GDLockerSecJan 24, 2025
linkcJan 29, 2025

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 669 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.