HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in December 2024

709 victims · 54 active groups · 2 new groups · 629 in November 2024 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 709 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in December 2024, up 12.7% from 629 in November 2024.
  • 54 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, funksec (104), clop (68) and akira (65), accounted for 33.4% of the total.
  • funksec was the most active group with 104 victims, after posting none in November 2024.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 168 victims (23.7% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (96).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 338 victims (47.7%), followed by Canada (32) and India (29); 18 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 2 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: bluebox and weyhro.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Dec 24 (81 victims). Quietest day: Dec 27 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareNovember 2024Change
1funksec
104
14.7%0+104
2clop
68
9.6%0+68
3akira
65
9.2%44+21
4ransomhub
51
7.2%100−49
5lynx
30
4.2%25+5
6killsec
28
3.9%33−5
7SilentRansomGroup
28
3.9%0+28
8qilin
27
3.8%24+3
9dragonransomware
23
3.2%8+15
10fog
22
3.1%20+2
11play
19
2.7%16+3
12safepay
18
2.5%15+3
13apt73
15
2.1%14+1
14raworld
13
1.8%10+3
15medusa
13
1.8%18−5

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services168
23.7%
2Manufacturing96
13.5%
3Technology94
13.3%
4Healthcare54
7.6%
5Financial Services52
7.3%
6Transportation/Logistics45
6.3%
7Education34
4.8%
8Public Sector29
4.1%
9Agriculture and Food Production26
3.7%
10Energy25
3.5%
11Consumer Services24
3.4%
12Hospitality and Tourism15
2.1%

Countries

18 victims (2.5%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
blueboxDec 2, 2024
weyhroDec 12, 2024

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 709 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.