HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in December 2023

546 victims · 44 active groups · 7 new groups · 521 in November 2023 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 546 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in December 2023, up 4.8% from 521 in November 2023.
  • 44 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, toufan (117), lockbit3 (95) and play (38), accounted for 45.8% of the total.
  • toufan was the most active group with 117 victims, after posting none in November 2023.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 122 victims (22.3% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (90).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 103 victims (18.9%), followed by Israel (31) and Canada (19); 251 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 7 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including interlock, crypto24 and raznatovic.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Dec 19 (115 victims). Quietest day: Dec 31 (0 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareNovember 2023Change
1toufan
117
21.4%0+117
2lockbit3
95
17.4%116−21
3play
38
7.0%44−6
4alphv
29
5.3%51−22
5blackbasta
25
4.6%27−2
68base
24
4.4%34−10
7dragonforce
22
4.0%0+22
8dispossessor
17
3.1%15+2
9akira
17
3.1%20−3
10cactus
12
2.2%22−10
11bianlian
12
2.2%13−1
12ElDorado
11
2.0%3+8
13rhysida
10
1.8%12−2
14cloak
10
1.8%0+10
15medusa
9
1.6%13−4

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing122
22.3%
2Business Services90
16.5%
3Healthcare43
7.9%
4Technology37
6.8%
5Consumer Services30
5.5%
6Education28
5.1%
7Public Sector26
4.8%
8Agriculture and Food Production24
4.4%
9Financial Services18
3.3%
10Transportation/Logistics17
3.1%
11Construction17
3.1%
12Energy16
2.9%

Countries

251 victims (46.0%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
interlockDec 1, 2023
crypto24Dec 13, 2023
raznatovicDec 17, 2023
toufanDec 17, 2023
beastDec 19, 2023
ranstreetDec 21, 2023
malekteamDec 24, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 546 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.