HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in November 2023

521 victims · 42 active groups · 4 new groups · 469 in October 2023 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 521 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in November 2023, up 11.1% from 469 in October 2023.
  • 42 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (116), alphv (51) and play (44), accounted for 40.5% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 116 victims, up from 70 in October 2023.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 94 victims (18.0% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (88).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 102 victims (19.6%), followed by the United Kingdom (22) and Germany (20); 239 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 4 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including apt73, safepay and siegedsec.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Nov 5 (37 victims). Quietest day: Nov 4 (3 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareOctober 2023Change
1lockbit3
116
22.3%70+46
2alphv
51
9.8%35+16
3play
44
8.4%50−6
48base
34
6.5%21+13
5blackbasta
27
5.2%33−6
6cactus
22
4.2%12+10
7akira
20
3.8%17+3
8hunters
17
3.3%2+15
9incransom
15
2.9%10+5
10dispossessor
15
2.9%17−2
11noescape
14
2.7%46−32
12medusa
13
2.5%20−7
13bianlian
13
2.5%16−3
14rhysida
12
2.3%5+7
15siegedsec
11
2.1%0+11

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services94
18.0%
2Manufacturing88
16.9%
3Healthcare43
8.3%
4Consumer Services43
8.3%
5Construction32
6.1%
6Agriculture and Food Production29
5.6%
7Financial Services26
5.0%
8Transportation/Logistics25
4.8%
9Technology25
4.8%
10Education24
4.6%
11Public Sector21
4.0%
12Energy13
2.5%

Countries

239 victims (45.9%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
apt73Nov 1, 2023
safepayNov 10, 2023
siegedsecNov 26, 2023
blacklockNov 27, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 521 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.