HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in October 2023

469 victims · 38 active groups · 1 new groups · 512 in September 2023 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 469 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in October 2023, down 8.4% from 512 in September 2023.
  • 38 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (70), play (50) and noescape (46), accounted for 35.4% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 70 victims, down from 76 in September 2023.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 89 victims (19.0% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (71).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 82 victims (17.5%), followed by the United Kingdom (26) and Canada (16); 209 victims did not disclose a location.
  • One group, ElDorado, appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Oct 31 (34 victims). Quietest day: Oct 29 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareSeptember 2023Change
1lockbit3
70
14.9%76−6
2play
50
10.7%26+24
3noescape
46
9.8%20+26
4alphv
35
7.5%52−17
5blackbasta
33
7.0%3+30
6ransomed
25
5.3%32−7
78base
21
4.5%210
8medusa
20
4.3%11+9
9dispossessor
17
3.6%14+3
10akira
17
3.6%10+7
11knight
16
3.4%11+5
12bianlian
16
3.4%24−8
13cactus
12
2.6%29−17
14incransom
10
2.1%11−1
15monti
9
1.9%4+5

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services89
19.0%
2Manufacturing71
15.1%
3Healthcare39
8.3%
4Consumer Services32
6.8%
5Construction30
6.4%
6Education27
5.8%
7Transportation/Logistics23
4.9%
8Public Sector22
4.7%
9Technology21
4.5%
10Agriculture and Food Production21
4.5%
11Financial Services17
3.6%
12Energy12
2.6%

Countries

209 victims (44.6%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
ElDoradoOct 19, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 469 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.