HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in January 2023

179 victims · 23 active groups · 2 new groups · 534 in December 2022 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 179 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in January 2023, down 66.5% from 534 in December 2022.
  • 23 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (48), vicesociety (23) and alphv (22), accounted for 52.0% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 48 victims, down from 58 in December 2022.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 29 victims (16.2% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (28).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 11 victims (6.1%), followed by the United Kingdom (11) and Australia (10); 92 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 2 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: moneymessage and medusa.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Jan 30 (17 victims). Quietest day: Jan 19 (0 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareDecember 2022Change
1lockbit3
48
26.8%58−10
2vicesociety
23
12.8%19+4
3alphv
22
12.3%25−3
4royal
20
11.2%45−25
5play
15
8.4%25−10
6mallox
7
3.9%1+6
7blackbyte
6
3.4%1+5
8medusa
5
2.8%0+5
9bianlian
5
2.8%37−32
108base
5
2.8%8−3
11ransomhouse
3
1.7%12−9
12lorenz
3
1.7%1+2
13hive
3
1.7%15−12
14clop
3
1.7%122−119
15nokoyawa
2
1.1%1+1

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services29
16.2%
2Manufacturing28
15.6%
3Education18
10.1%
4Consumer Services14
7.8%
5Healthcare11
6.1%
6Financial Services11
6.1%
7Transportation/Logistics10
5.6%
8Public Sector10
5.6%
9Technology9
5.0%
10Agriculture and Food Production8
4.5%
11Energy6
3.4%
12Construction6
3.4%

Countries

92 victims (51.4%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
moneymessageJan 4, 2023
medusaJan 11, 2023

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 179 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.