HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in August 2022

193 victims · 25 active groups · 3 new groups · 216 in July 2022 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 193 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in August 2022, down 10.6% from 216 in July 2022.
  • 25 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (66), blackbasta (18) and bianlian (12), accounted for 49.7% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 66 victims, down from 67 in July 2022.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 27 victims (14.0% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (19).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 16 victims (8.3%), followed by Canada (4) and the Netherlands (3); 151 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 3 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: daixin, icefire and donutleaks.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Aug 6 (24 victims). Quietest day: Aug 5 (1 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJuly 2022Change
1lockbit3
66
34.2%67−1
2blackbasta
18
9.3%24−6
3bianlian
12
6.2%9+3
4icefire
11
5.7%0+11
5alphv
11
5.7%22−11
6vicesociety
8
4.1%5+3
7ragnarlocker
7
3.6%2+5
8lv
7
3.6%6+1
9hive
7
3.6%29−22
108base
7
3.6%5+2
11quantum
5
2.6%50
12donutleaks
5
2.6%0+5
13blackbyte
5
2.6%3+2
14dispossessor
4
2.1%3+1
15ransomexx
3
1.6%0+3

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing27
14.0%
2Business Services19
9.8%
3Technology14
7.3%
4Financial Services14
7.3%
5Consumer Services14
7.3%
6Healthcare11
5.7%
7Education11
5.7%
8Construction11
5.7%
9Public Sector8
4.1%
10Energy6
3.1%
11Hospitality and Tourism4
2.1%
12Agriculture and Food Production4
2.1%

Countries

151 victims (78.2%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
daixinAug 3, 2022
icefireAug 20, 2022
donutleaksAug 24, 2022

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 193 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.