HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in September 2022

225 victims · 24 active groups · 1 new groups · 193 in August 2022 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 225 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in September 2022, up 16.6% from 193 in August 2022.
  • 24 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (112), blackbasta (20) and alphv (17), accounted for 66.2% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 112 victims, up from 66 in August 2022.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 35 victims (15.6% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (30).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 12 victims (5.3%), followed by France (12) and Taiwan (6); 149 victims did not disclose a location.
  • One group, sparta, appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Sep 14 (39 victims). Quietest day: Sep 10 (0 victims). Victims were posted on 29 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareAugust 2022Change
1lockbit3
112
49.8%66+46
2blackbasta
20
8.9%18+2
3alphv
17
7.6%11+6
4sparta
14
6.2%0+14
5hive
14
6.2%7+7
6vicesociety
6
2.7%8−2
7blackbyte
6
2.7%5+1
8ragnarlocker
5
2.2%7−2
9everest
5
2.2%2+3
108base
4
1.8%7−3
11bianlian
3
1.3%12−9
12redalert
2
0.9%0+2
13quantum
2
0.9%5−3
14donutleaks
2
0.9%5−3
15dispossessor
2
0.9%4−2

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services35
15.6%
2Manufacturing30
13.3%
3Healthcare18
8.0%
4Consumer Services17
7.6%
5Public Sector14
6.2%
6Technology12
5.3%
7Financial Services12
5.3%
8Hospitality and Tourism11
4.9%
9Education10
4.4%
10Agriculture and Food Production10
4.4%
11Energy9
4.0%
12Construction9
4.0%

Countries

149 victims (66.2%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
spartaSep 13, 2022

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 225 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.