HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in January 2022

203 victims · 22 active groups · 2 new groups · 290 in December 2021 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 203 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in January 2022, down 30.0% from 290 in December 2021.
  • 22 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit2 (48), vicesociety (34) and hive (32), accounted for 56.2% of the total.
  • lockbit2 was the most active group with 48 victims, down from 62 in December 2021.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 28 victims (13.8% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (21).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 10 victims (4.9%), followed by France (5) and Italy (4); 170 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 2 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: leaktheanalyst and nightsky.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Jan 25 (33 victims). Quietest day: Jan 2 (0 victims). Victims were posted on 29 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareDecember 2021Change
1lockbit2
48
23.6%62−14
2vicesociety
34
16.7%0+34
3hive
32
15.8%23+9
4leaktheanalyst
18
8.9%0+18
5alphv
13
6.4%130
6conti
11
5.4%36−25
7snatch
9
4.4%13−4
8cuba
8
3.9%6+2
9sabbath
6
3.0%4+2
10everest
5
2.5%50
11payloadbin
3
1.5%1+2
12ragnarlocker
2
1.0%5−3
13nightsky
2
1.0%0+2
14midas
2
1.0%3−1
15lockbit3
2
1.0%1+1

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing28
13.8%
2Business Services21
10.3%
3Education18
8.9%
4Financial Services14
6.9%
5Healthcare11
5.4%
6Consumer Services11
5.4%
7Public Sector8
3.9%
8Construction8
3.9%
9Transportation/Logistics6
3.0%
10Hospitality and Tourism4
2.0%
11Energy4
2.0%
12Agriculture and Food Production4
2.0%

Countries

170 victims (83.7%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
leaktheanalystJan 1, 2022
nightskyJan 4, 2022

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 203 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.