HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in February 2022

231 victims · 20 active groups · 0 new groups · 203 in January 2022 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 231 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in February 2022, up 13.8% from 203 in January 2022.
  • 20 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit2 (95), conti (34) and hive (23), accounted for 65.8% of the total.
  • lockbit2 was the most active group with 95 victims, up from 48 in January 2022.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 41 victims (17.7% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (32).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 13 victims (5.6%), followed by Italy (6) and Mexico (3); 177 victims did not disclose a location.
  • No groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Feb 25 (35 victims). Quietest day: Feb 10 (1 victims). Victims were posted on 28 of 28 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJanuary 2022Change
1lockbit2
95
41.1%48+47
2conti
34
14.7%11+23
3hive
23
10.0%32−9
4alphv
23
10.0%13+10
5blackbyte
9
3.9%0+9
6lockbit3
7
3.0%2+5
7suncrypt
6
2.6%0+6
8midas
6
2.6%2+4
9cuba
6
2.6%8−2
10snatch
5
2.2%9−4
11lv
4
1.7%1+3
12quantum
3
1.3%1+2
13everest
3
1.3%5−2
14sabbath
1
0.4%6−5
15ransomexx
1
0.4%10

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing41
17.7%
2Business Services32
13.9%
3Consumer Services21
9.1%
4Technology13
5.6%
5Education11
4.8%
6Healthcare10
4.3%
7Transportation/Logistics9
3.9%
8Construction9
3.9%
9Financial Services8
3.5%
10Hospitality and Tourism7
3.0%
11Agriculture and Food Production7
3.0%
12Telecommunication4
1.7%

Countries

177 victims (76.6%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

No groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month.

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Latest victims of the month

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 231 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.