HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in September 2025

546 victims · 60 active groups · 4 new groups · 522 in August 2025 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 546 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in September 2025, up 4.6% from 522 in August 2025.
  • 60 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, qilin (78), akira (78) and play (39), accounted for 35.7% of the total.
  • qilin was the most active group with 78 victims, down from 85 in August 2025.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 80 victims (14.7% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (66).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 279 victims (51.1%), followed by Germany (24) and Canada (24); 21 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 4 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including lunalock, yurei and Ethics.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Sep 4 (32 victims). Quietest day: Sep 21 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareAugust 2025Change
1qilin
78
14.3%85−7
2akira
78
14.3%55+23
3play
39
7.1%36+3
4incransom
37
6.8%29+8
5killsec
32
5.9%2+30
6lynx
25
4.6%9+16
7thegentlemen
18
3.3%6+12
8devman
14
2.6%6+8
9warlock
11
2.0%20−9
10coinbasecartel
11
2.0%2+9
11pear
10
1.8%8+2
12sinobi
9
1.6%27−18
13radar
9
1.6%3+6
14medusa
9
1.6%4+5
15dragonforce
9
1.6%27−18

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing80
14.7%
2Technology66
12.1%
3Financial Services66
12.1%
4Construction50
9.2%
5Business Services47
8.6%
6Healthcare36
6.6%
7Consumer Services34
6.2%
8Education21
3.8%
9Agriculture and Food Production20
3.7%
10Transportation/Logistics15
2.7%
11Hospitality and Tourism15
2.7%
12Energy14
2.6%

Countries

21 victims (3.8%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
lunalockSep 2, 2025
yureiSep 5, 2025
EthicsSep 11, 2025
blackshrantacSep 17, 2025

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 546 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.