HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in August 2024

496 victims · 49 active groups · 2 new groups · 447 in July 2024 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 496 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in August 2024, up 11.0% from 447 in July 2024.
  • 49 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, ransomhub (79), meow (44) and play (33), accounted for 31.5% of the total.
  • ransomhub was the most active group with 79 victims, up from 58 in July 2024.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 159 victims (32.1% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (66).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 232 victims (46.8%), followed by the United Kingdom (30) and Canada (23); 6 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 2 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: helldown and lockbit5.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Aug 22 (34 victims). Quietest day: Aug 4 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJuly 2024Change
1ransomhub
79
15.9%58+21
2meow
44
8.9%17+27
3play
33
6.7%15+18
4akira
26
5.2%30−4
5qilin
23
4.6%18+5
6helldown
21
4.2%0+21
7rhysida
20
4.0%11+9
8bianlian
20
4.0%13+7
9hunters
18
3.6%29−11
10killsec
15
3.0%3+12
11lynx
14
2.8%11+3
12cicada3301
14
2.8%8+6
13monti
13
2.6%3+10
14lockbit3
13
2.6%30−17
15dragonforce
12
2.4%14−2

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services159
32.1%
2Technology66
13.3%
3Manufacturing63
12.7%
4Healthcare40
8.1%
5Agriculture and Food Production30
6.0%
6Financial Services29
5.8%
7Transportation/Logistics23
4.6%
8Public Sector21
4.2%
9Education15
3.0%
10Hospitality and Tourism13
2.6%
11Energy13
2.6%
12Consumer Services7
1.4%

Countries

6 victims (1.2%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
helldownAug 5, 2024
lockbit5Aug 17, 2024

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 496 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.