HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in July 2024

447 victims · 55 active groups · 4 new groups · 369 in June 2024 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 447 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in July 2024, up 21.1% from 369 in June 2024.
  • 55 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, ransomhub (58), lockbit3 (30) and akira (30), accounted for 26.4% of the total.
  • ransomhub was the most active group with 58 victims, up from 37 in June 2024.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 128 victims (28.6% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (66).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 199 victims (44.5%), followed by Canada (19) and the United Kingdom (18); 63 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 4 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including BrainCipher, sarcoma and vanirgroup.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Jul 16 (43 victims). Quietest day: Jul 6 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJune 2024Change
1ransomhub
58
13.0%37+21
2lockbit3
30
6.7%19+11
3akira
30
6.7%27+3
4hunters
29
6.5%8+21
5qilin
18
4.0%20−2
6medusa
18
4.0%17+1
7meow
17
3.8%2+15
8play
15
3.4%30−15
9dragonforce
14
3.1%7+7
10cactus
14
3.1%7+7
11blacksuit
14
3.1%19−5
12bianlian
13
2.9%9+4
13incransom
12
2.7%18−6
14rhysida
11
2.5%6+5
15lynx
11
2.5%1+10

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services128
28.6%
2Technology66
14.8%
3Healthcare55
12.3%
4Manufacturing54
12.1%
5Education23
5.1%
6Public Sector21
4.7%
7Transportation/Logistics19
4.3%
8Hospitality and Tourism16
3.6%
9Financial Services15
3.4%
10Agriculture and Food Production15
3.4%
11Energy12
2.7%
12Consumer Services4
0.9%

Countries

63 victims (14.1%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
BrainCipherJul 1, 2024
sarcomaJul 9, 2024
vanirgroupJul 10, 2024
ransomcortexJul 12, 2024

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 447 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.