HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in May 2024

535 victims · 55 active groups · 4 new groups · 526 in April 2024 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 535 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in May 2024, up 1.7% from 526 in April 2024.
  • 55 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (113), ransomhub (55) and play (34), accounted for 37.8% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 113 victims, up from 47 in April 2024.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 156 victims (29.2% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (67).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 257 victims (48.0%), followed by the United Kingdom (34) and Germany (20); 25 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 4 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including zerotolerance, genesis and arcusmedia.

Daily activity

Busiest day: May 6 (48 victims). Quietest day: May 19 (1 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareApril 2024Change
1lockbit3
113
21.1%47+66
2ransomhub
55
10.3%45+10
3play
34
6.4%42−8
4incransom
32
6.0%41−9
5medusa
23
4.3%26−3
6qilin
21
3.9%18+3
7akira
21
3.9%18+3
88base
20
3.7%26−6
9blackbasta
18
3.4%15+3
10dragonforce
14
2.6%12+2
11bianlian
14
2.6%12+2
12blacksuit
13
2.4%34−21
13cactus
12
2.2%7+5
14arcusmedia
11
2.1%0+11
15hunters
10
1.9%31−21

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services156
29.2%
2Manufacturing67
12.5%
3Technology63
11.8%
4Healthcare58
10.8%
5Transportation/Logistics40
7.5%
6Public Sector28
5.2%
7Financial Services26
4.9%
8Agriculture and Food Production23
4.3%
9Education21
3.9%
10Energy12
2.2%
11Hospitality and Tourism11
2.1%
12Consumer Services7
1.3%

Countries

25 victims (4.7%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
zerotoleranceMay 5, 2024
genesisMay 7, 2024
arcusmediaMay 8, 2024
madliberatorMay 27, 2024

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 535 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.