HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in February 2024

458 victims · 45 active groups · 7 new groups · 333 in January 2024 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 458 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in February 2024, up 37.5% from 333 in January 2024.
  • 45 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (105), blackbasta (38) and play (35), accounted for 38.9% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 105 victims, up from 75 in January 2024.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 140 victims (30.6% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (63).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 221 victims (48.3%), followed by the United Kingdom (27) and Canada (21); 3 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 7 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including darkvault, kraken and trisec.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Feb 12 (41 victims). Quietest day: Feb 3 (4 victims). Victims were posted on 29 of 29 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareJanuary 2024Change
1lockbit3
105
22.9%75+30
2blackbasta
38
8.3%6+32
3play
35
7.6%19+16
4hunters
33
7.2%14+19
5alphv
31
6.8%22+9
6bianlian
21
4.6%17+4
78base
21
4.6%35−14
8akira
17
3.7%26−9
9qilin
14
3.1%11+3
10medusa
14
3.1%11+3
11ransomhub
8
1.7%0+8
12cloak
8
1.7%2+6
13cactus
8
1.7%13−5
14stormous
7
1.5%4+3
15meow
6
1.3%1+5

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services140
30.6%
2Manufacturing63
13.8%
3Technology60
13.1%
4Healthcare48
10.5%
5Transportation/Logistics34
7.4%
6Agriculture and Food Production26
5.7%
7Public Sector18
3.9%
8Financial Services15
3.3%
9Energy14
3.1%
10Hospitality and Tourism12
2.6%
11Education11
2.4%
12Consumer Services4
0.9%

Countries

3 victims (0.7%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
darkvaultFeb 8, 2024
krakenFeb 12, 2024
trisecFeb 16, 2024
mogilevichFeb 20, 2024
killsecFeb 21, 2024
donexFeb 22, 2024
blackoutFeb 26, 2024

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 458 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.