HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in March 2024

480 victims · 42 active groups · 2 new groups · 458 in February 2024 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 480 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in March 2024, up 4.8% from 458 in February 2024.
  • 42 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit3 (75), play (53) and ransomhub (37), accounted for 34.4% of the total.
  • lockbit3 was the most active group with 75 victims, down from 105 in February 2024.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 138 victims (28.8% of the month's total), ahead of Technology (64).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 239 victims (49.8%), followed by the United Kingdom (27) and Germany (21); 13 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 2 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: redransomware and dAn0n.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Mar 6 (47 victims). Quietest day: Mar 10 (1 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareFebruary 2024Change
1lockbit3
75
15.6%105−30
2play
53
11.0%35+18
3ransomhub
37
7.7%8+29
4blackbasta
34
7.1%38−4
5medusa
27
5.6%14+13
6raworld
21
4.4%0+21
7hunters
18
3.8%33−15
8akira
18
3.8%17+1
9bianlian
17
3.5%21−4
10incransom
13
2.7%4+9
118base
13
2.7%21−8
12redransomware
12
2.5%0+12
13stormous
10
2.1%7+3
14qilin
10
2.1%14−4
15blacksuit
9
1.9%5+4

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services138
28.8%
2Technology64
13.3%
3Manufacturing60
12.5%
4Healthcare60
12.5%
5Transportation/Logistics24
5.0%
6Financial Services24
5.0%
7Agriculture and Food Production23
4.8%
8Education17
3.5%
9Public Sector14
2.9%
10Hospitality and Tourism13
2.7%
11Energy13
2.7%
12Construction7
1.5%

Countries

13 victims (2.7%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
redransomwareMar 5, 2024
dAn0nMar 26, 2024

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 480 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.