HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in April 2022

328 victims · 25 active groups · 5 new groups · 315 in March 2022 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 328 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in April 2022, up 4.1% from 315 in March 2022.
  • 25 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit2 (131), conti (38) and alphv (27), accounted for 59.8% of the total.
  • lockbit2 was the most active group with 131 victims, down from 136 in March 2022.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 52 victims (15.9% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (50).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 13 victims (4.0%), followed by France (4) and Germany (4); 277 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 5 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month, including kelvinsecurity, 8base and cryptbb.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Apr 29 (28 victims). Quietest day: Apr 16 (2 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareMarch 2022Change
1lockbit2
131
39.9%136−5
2conti
38
11.6%58−20
3alphv
27
8.2%16+11
4kelvinsecurity
18
5.5%0+18
5vicesociety
17
5.2%9+8
6quantum
15
4.6%0+15
7blackbasta
12
3.7%0+12
8stormous
9
2.7%8+1
9onyx
7
2.1%0+7
10darkleakmarket
7
2.1%0+7
11lorenz
6
1.8%4+2
12revil
5
1.5%0+5
13hive
5
1.5%21−16
14everest
5
1.5%18−13
15suncrypt
4
1.2%3+1

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing52
15.9%
2Business Services50
15.2%
3Consumer Services24
7.3%
4Construction23
7.0%
5Public Sector20
6.1%
6Financial Services18
5.5%
7Technology17
5.2%
8Healthcare16
4.9%
9Agriculture and Food Production14
4.3%
10Education12
3.7%
11Transportation/Logistics7
2.1%
12Energy7
2.1%

Countries

277 victims (84.5%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
kelvinsecurityApr 1, 2022
8baseApr 3, 2022
cryptbbApr 3, 2022
blackbastaApr 26, 2022
onyxApr 29, 2022

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Latest victims of the month

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 328 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.