HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in June 2022

158 victims · 23 active groups · 3 new groups · 251 in May 2022 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 158 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in June 2022, down 37.1% from 251 in May 2022.
  • 23 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, lockbit2 (64), blackbasta (16) and vicesociety (12), accounted for 58.2% of the total.
  • lockbit2 was the most active group with 64 victims, down from 99 in May 2022.
  • Manufacturing was the most-targeted sector with 28 victims (17.7% of the month's total), ahead of Business Services (23).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 13 victims (8.2%), followed by Italy (2) and the United Kingdom (2); 126 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 3 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: SilentRansomGroup, worldleaks and la_piovra.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Jun 14 (17 victims). Quietest day: Jun 19 (1 victims). Victims were posted on 30 of 30 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareMay 2022Change
1lockbit2
64
40.5%99−35
2blackbasta
16
10.1%18−2
3vicesociety
12
7.6%10+2
4alphv
10
6.3%18−8
5lv
8
5.1%2+6
6quantum
7
4.4%70
78base
6
3.8%3+3
8hive
5
3.2%17−12
9ragnarlocker
4
2.5%2+2
10everest
4
2.5%3+1
11lockbit3
3
1.9%0+3
12dispossessor
3
1.9%2+1
13suncrypt
2
1.3%0+2
14snatch
2
1.3%1+1
15cuba
2
1.3%20

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Manufacturing28
17.7%
2Business Services23
14.6%
3Technology13
8.2%
4Consumer Services13
8.2%
5Healthcare10
6.3%
6Public Sector9
5.7%
7Education9
5.7%
8Construction9
5.7%
9Transportation/Logistics8
5.1%
10Agriculture and Food Production6
3.8%
11Financial Services5
3.2%
12Telecommunication3
1.9%

Countries

126 victims (79.7%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
SilentRansomGroupJun 7, 2022
worldleaksJun 23, 2022
la_piovraJun 25, 2022

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 158 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.