HackerFeeds
All monthly reports

Ransomware attacks in October 2024

645 victims · 55 active groups · 3 new groups · 420 in September 2024 · Updated Oct 14, 2026

Key findings

  • HackerFeeds recorded 645 ransomware victims claimed on leak sites in October 2024, up 53.6% from 420 in September 2024.
  • 55 groups posted at least one victim; the three most active groups, ransomhub (91), play (49) and killsec (33), accounted for 26.8% of the total.
  • ransomhub was the most active group with 91 victims, up from 60 in September 2024.
  • Business Services was the most-targeted sector with 181 victims (28.1% of the month's total), ahead of Manufacturing (101).
  • Organizations in the United States accounted for 307 victims (47.6%), followed by Canada (39) and India (31); 9 victims did not disclose a location.
  • 3 groups appeared in HackerFeeds data for the first time this month: dragonransomware, hellcat and playboy.

Daily activity

Busiest day: Oct 25 (50 victims). Quietest day: Oct 13 (5 victims). Victims were posted on 31 of 31 days.

Most active groups

#GroupVictimsShareSeptember 2024Change
1ransomhub
91
14.1%60+31
2play
49
7.6%45+4
3killsec
33
5.1%13+20
4blackbasta
32
5.0%2+30
5sarcoma
29
4.5%1+28
6qilin
26
4.0%260
7hunters
26
4.0%16+10
8meow
25
3.9%18+7
9fog
24
3.7%5+19
10lynx
22
3.4%11+11
11blacksuit
21
3.3%11+10
12apt73
21
3.3%1+20
13akira
19
2.9%21−2
14medusa
17
2.6%26−9
15safepay
15
2.3%6+9

Targeted sectors

#SectorVictimsShare of month
1Business Services181
28.1%
2Manufacturing101
15.7%
3Technology85
13.2%
4Healthcare68
10.5%
5Transportation/Logistics31
4.8%
6Public Sector30
4.7%
7Financial Services29
4.5%
8Education29
4.5%
9Hospitality and Tourism20
3.1%
10Agriculture and Food Production20
3.1%
11Energy16
2.5%
12Consumer Services11
1.7%

Countries

9 victims (1.4%) did not disclose a location.

Groups seen for the first time

GroupFirst victim
dragonransomwareOct 22, 2024
hellcatOct 25, 2024
playboyOct 28, 2024

“First time” means the group’s earliest victim in our dataset falls in this month; a group may have operated earlier under another name.

Methodology

Counts are victims publicly claimed on ransomware leak sites, as aggregated from ransomware.live, and are dated by the claim’s publication date (UTC). Claims are made by the criminal groups themselves and are not independently verified; a listing does not confirm that an attack took place or that data was stolen. Shares are calculated against the month’s total of 645 victims, and sector and country fields reflect what was disclosed in each listing. See our methodology for details.